All Too Human (plus some other comedy dates)

That rough beast that is the  Edinburgh Festival once again slouches towards us and while your time would be better spent elsewhere, I will also be there doing whatever the thing is called that I do. It’s not much at all as my inital plan was to not to go at all this year as a result of events and circumstances in the meat-world; but the sweet siren call of Mistress Stand-Up remains all but impossible to resist. It’s only going to be a hastily organised and brief visit so I’m not doing a lot but one show will be an interesting new challenge. Specifically, through a combination of chance and chutzpah I will be doing an hour-long show called All Too Human at Jeremiah’s Taproom at 3pm-4pm on the 12, 13th and 14th of August. This was a last-minute decision so it’s not in the official brochure*, there are no flyers and no posters. And potentially no audience.

Should be fun.

In theory I wanted to do a show next year so this is a dry-run and work-in-progress, but it’s free, so no-foul, no harm. I’m billing it as ‘stand-up philosophy’ (a term I nicked from Robert Anton Wilson) but only because the subject matter is what is to be human, or more specifically, post-human. Which might sound grand but is in most respects a flimsy excuse to hang together three years of pre-existing stand-up with some new bits gluing them together. I know, I know, I’m really giving you guys the ‘hard sell’ here. At any rate, it should be fun and if you are reading this and you are free then please come along. If you want to buy me dinner and get me drunk that is also acceptable.

Here’s the list of where I currently know for sure that  I will be saying jokes out of my face-hole:

Tuesday 12th August: All Too Human, Jeremiah’s Taproom, 3pm

Wednesday 13th August: All Too Human, Jeremiah’s Taproom, 3pm

Capital Comedy Club, Moriarty’s, Lothian road, 6pm (MC)

Thursday 14th August: All Too Human, Jeremiah’s Taproom, 3pm

Capital Comedy Club, Moriarty’s, Lothian road, 6pm (MC)

Friday 15th August: Ray Fordyce’s Brunch-time Banter, Three Sisters, 11am

Sunday 17th August: About 2.5% Ginger Comedy Showcase , The Newsroom, 7.30pm

There usually ends up being more so if, for some perverse reason, you desperately want to catch my act you can follow me on twitter (@sjzenarchy) where I promise to pointlessly and endlessly inform complete strangers of my whereabouts.

* Although you will find me in there along with Matt T. Woodward for Laughter on the Outskirts: The Return. Unfortunately I’m not doing that show any more (see ‘meat-world circumstances’ above) so you should go and see Matt instead.  Well worth your time.

About Scott Jeffery

Hello humans. I am Dr. Scott Jeffery. I do the following things (in no particular order): Research into Post/Humanism and Transhumanism and superheroes (seriously, I’ve got a PhD and everything) Stand-up comedy Compulsive rumination I blog about these things (plus occultism and all kinds of other lovely, strange topics) at NthMind. I also write regular short film reviews at Filmdribble. I can be contacted via twitter (@sjzenarchy) or at sjzenarchy@gmail.com. View all posts by Scott Jeffery

One response to “All Too Human (plus some other comedy dates)

  • Ewan

    I will do all I can to attend your mouth-operated musings on 12/13/14th. I will have to shake off the toad work.

Leave a Reply

